Fact Sheet – Gluten

Gluten is a protein found in food processed from wheat and related grains including spelt, barley and rye.

If you are going to eliminate gluten from your diet or your child’s diet, there are quite a few foods that you will need to avoid or at least check for gluten content. I’ve provided a list below for reference. However, there are many delicious and healthy foods that are naturally gluten free. These foods can be enjoyed on a gluten free diet so long as they are not breaded or battered or otherwise prepared using products that contain gluten:

  • all meat
  • all fish
  • all vegetables
  • all fruit
  • all legumes, nuts and seeds
  • eggs
  • rice
  • potatoes
  • dairy products

Now that we have established you are not going to starve without gluten, here is a list of foods contain gluten to avoid unless expressly indicated as gluten-free:

  • barley
  • beer
  • biscuits
  • bran
  • bread, bread rolls
  • breaded foods
  • bulgur
  • cake, cookies, cupcakes
  • cereal
  • couscous
  • crackers
  • crumble topping
  • durum wheat
  • farina
  • flour
  • groats
  • malt, malt extract, malt flavoring, malt syrup
  • matzo
  • pasta
  • pearl barley
  • pizza
  • pretzels
  • rye
  • seitan
  • spelt
  • wheat
  • wheat germ
  • yorkshire pudding

The following foods may contain gluten so check before consuming:

  • bottled sauces, marinades, salad dressing and other condiments
  • canned soups and broths
  • cold cuts
  • communion wafers
  • gravy
  • hamburgers
  • sausages
  • soy sauce (tamari sauce is gluten free)

Oats do not contain gluten but are nearly always contaminated with wheat unless processed in a special facility and designated gluten free.

Gluten may also be found in some household items such as:

  • chewing gum
  • glue
  • lipstick, lip balm
  • medication, supplements
  • toothpaste